Friday Fashion Fix: NikeLab x JFS

The latest NikeLab collaboration is a versatile capsule women’s training collection from Berlin-based high fashion and performance sportswear designer Johanna Schneider. The collection is made up of several pieces which can be layered for different stages of the workout and which have been designed to cover performance needs for various training activities from yoga to HIIT workouts.

http://youtu.be/8GRcJx206mE

Schneider used a muted palette of greys, blues and greys, inspired by Dutch still-life paintings by Pieter Claesz and Willem Claesz Heda, as she says these colours work well with a wide range of skin tones. (As a side note, my A-Level art teacher set us a whole project of Claesz-esque still life work, so I was very excited to hear that this was Schneider’s inspiration and ever so slightly disappointed at the lack of skulls).  

The stand out piece from the collection – the much feted Sleeveless Training Cape – embodies the whole NikeLab x JFS ethos : it is a versatile piece which combines Schneider’s design style with Nike’s technical knowledge (in this case their Dri-FIT fabric).

NikeLab x JFS Sleeveless Womens Training Cape

 

NikeLab x JFS Sleeveless Women’s Training Cape – £150

 

I think this is without a doubt the most fashion-toward piece in the collection and it makes for an interesting cover-up – a stylish, statement piece to take you from the gym to a bar perhaps? – however, I could not personally see myself wearing it while working out. I think there would be too much fabric flapping around which would annoy me while running, even though I do enjoy the overall aesthetic and think it works well visually alongside the rest of the collection.

My favourite pieces are the Printed Tights and Sports Bra (shown below with the Sleeveless Cape), both feature prints of Schneider’s hand painted artwork on Nike’s Dri-FIT technical fabric.

NikeLab x JFS Sleeveless Womens Training Cape Printed Tights Sports BraNikeLab x JFS Printed Sports Bra (£55) and Training Tights (£115) 

 

I also really like the Crop Long-Sleeve Training Top, in fact I think this is the item I would be most likely to buy from the NikeLab x JFS collection because it is a perfect transitional piece for this time of year. The cropped length which allows for layering over longer vest tops, the asymmetric collar and thumbholes on sleeves add a bit of warmth to the design, so its perfect for wearing to and from class, and the Dri-FIT fabric and ventilation panels mean that it is practical to keep wearing the top during my workout in case I misjudge the temperature.

NikeLab x JFS Crop Long Sleeve Training Top Front

NikeLab x JFS Crop Long Sleeve Training Top

 

Crop Long-Sleeve Training Top (£40)